Instagram can be overwhelming when you have unwanted followers, like your ex, some clingy person from work or one of your family member who leaves embarrassing comments under your post.
The problem is that you can’t remove them without them knowing, or if you want them to unfollow you, you should block them! This way you will be removed from their followers too!
Private accounts had that chance always to block/unblock any of their followers to stop them from following them. However, it has been a problem for public accounts, but now, Instagram is giving this opportunity to all of its users. (androids for now) Instagram announced that it’s testing the follower removing, and it will be available for all of the Instagram users for the next week or so.
With this feature, the removed follower will not be informed of the action. At least, you can deny it when your ex-follower starts to wonder why your photos, which they were able to see before, are no longer visible. Instagram has been releasing various developments in the past several months — for example, the “mute” button, which lets you continue to follow people while eliminating the option of actually viewing their updates all the time.
How to remove followers on Instagram
Below are the steps to follow in order to remove Instagram followers:
- Go to your profile.
- Tap on the follower’s button.
- Look for the symbol with three vertical dots on the right side of someone’s name.
- You will see the option to remove him/her from your followers.
- Tap on Remove and get rid of them.
What happens when you remove followers on Instagram?
As you read previously, you can remove your Instagram followers easily. Here, you will read about what will happen if you remove any of your Instagram followers.
Can the removed follower see my posts?
The situation might differ based on your profile privacy setting. When you remove a follower from your private account, that person can not see your old or new posts and stories. If you have a public profile, he can not see your posts and stories on the feed. But he could search your Instagram username and see your posts and stories without following you.
Will Instagram notify the person you remove?
Be sure that if you remove any of your followers, Instagram doesn’t notify that person. He might understand it if he gets suspicious because there is no post or story from your side after a long time.
Can we send messages to each other?
Nothing happens to messages, and you can still send messages to each other.
Can they request to follow you again?
If you remove someone as a follower, that person can send you a follow request again by hitting the Follow button. And Instagram will notify you that someone wants to be among your followers.
Can you undo removing a follower?
The worst point is that there is no way back from your side. The only way is that they send you a follow request again.