Messenger as a member of Facebook’s big family has some little issues for its users sometimes. Suppose you are chatting with your friend and suddenly you get stocked with a message reading “this person is unavailable on messenger”. What happened?
In this article, we are going to excavate all facts about this issue and discuss possible solutions
What does This person is unavailable on messenger Mean?
Messenger shows this message while blocking your ability to send messages to the recipient. The server told you the person who you were chatting with doesn’t exist now, but this is not true. This could happen if;
- You are being blocked by the recipient
- Your friend might delete his or her messenger app or Facebook account
- Facebook has removed or disabled the account
- There is a bug in your phone
Facebook says when you encounter “this person is unavailable on messenger” error occurs usually when a user deletes a conversation. Although, if this is the case, you can open the Facebook web and reply to that person even if he or she has deleted the conversation.
How to fix “This person is unavailable on messenger”؟
Unfortunately, fixing this problem is not easy. Facebook is one of the most sophisticated applications and sometimes even the Facebook support team cannot help you with the issues; however, there are some simple ways which can resolve the bug in 90% of the cases.
- Update your Facebook messenger app
First of all, check if there is a new update for the app on Google Play or Appstore. In some cases, installing the latest version can resolve the problem easily.
- Check your internet connection
Never forget to check your internet status. Having a weak wave sometimes makes the app partially functional and cannot run the services. You can try sending a message or open a chat with a different person and see the same happen to that chat. If you can send a message, then your internet connectivity is sufficient enough.
- Are you already blocked?
The message “this person is unavailable on Messenger” also means maybe the recipient has blocked you or deleted the conversation. On Facebook, users can block you in two ways, or through Messenger.
If you are blocked through Messenger, you can still send and receive posts or photos from your friend but farcically you cannot communicate with each other on Messenger. If you are blocked via Facebook, you are abandoned both on Facebook and Messenger; however, you still can see previous texts and messages.
- Your recipient has some problems with Facebook
In some cases being a specific account unavailable means that the account has been deactivated or removed by Facebook. It could also be that the account was fake and facebook detected and removed it from their database.
For whatever reason he or she is disabled, you need to find out whether the account is active or deleted. To check this, consider your friend’s list and search the user by name or email. If you find the profile, that means the account is still active.
- Check your Facebook memories
You can check your account status by Facebook Memory. With this option, you can find out previous likes or comments. In case the user name is clickable or blue which takes you to his/her profile then it is an indication you are not blocked by the user. If you can’t do the whole process, so you are abandoned, respectively.
To check the memory on phone:
- Open the Facebook app on your phone
- Search for “Memories” on the search bar and click on it
To check the memory on PC:
- Go to the Facebook website
- On the main page sidebar under the “Explore” option click on “See More”
- Scroll down and click on “Memories”
- Use the web-based version of Facebook for sending messages
It seems this bug will never get away from the application You can log in to your account and try sending a message to that person from the Facebook web version. This is a thing which many people are doing nowadays.
I hope this article could be helpful. To be honest, suddenly finding out the user is unavailable on messenger is weird and confusing, and you cannot do much about it.